Royal College of Physicians award

Professor Pirmohamed

Earl Howe, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Quality (Lords), Department of Health, Professor Pirmohamed and Sir Richard Thompson, President of the Royal College of Physicians

Professor Munir Pirmohamed, NHS Chair of Pharmacogenetics in the Wolfson Centre for Personalised Medicine, has received a Royal College of Physicians award.

He was presented with the 2011 William Withering Prize, founded by a gift from the World Conference on Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics in 1981 in memory of William Withering FRS (1741-99), at the Physicians and the pharmaceutical industry conference held in London.

The prize is awarded every three years after consultation with the Chairman of the College’s Committee on Clinical Pharmacology and the British Pharmacological Society.

Previous winners have included Emeritus Professor Sir Alasdair Breckenridge, who was Head of Pharmacology & Therapeutics at the University for 26 years.

Leave a comment