Learning and Teaching Award winners


Dr Luciane Vieira deMello Rigden, Life Sciences, receives her Excellence in Teaching Award from Vice Chancellor Sir Howard Newby

Winners of the inaugural University of Liverpool Learning and Teaching Awards were presented during graduation ceremonies last week.

A total of 20 awards were presented to staff across the three faculties, with three overall winners being awarded the Sir Alistair Pilkington Award for Teaching Excellence, named in honour of the late Chancellor, and presented on behalf of the University.

The awards recognise best practice in learning and teaching and celebrate the achievements of staff that have made an outstanding contribution to pedagogy and the enhancement of the student experience.

Professor Kelvin Everest, Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Student Experience said: “I would like to congratulate all our award winners, all of whom have achieved distinction in their respective fields.  Teaching and learning at Liverpool is undertaken within a culture of research excellence, and these new awards reflect the value placed on providing our students with a high quality educational experience worthy of a leading Russell group institution.”


Faculty of Health and Life Sciences award winners:


  • Alison Hobden ,  School of Health Sciences; Dr Kieron Salmon,  School of Veterinary Science;  and from the School of Life Sciences,  Dr Zenobia Lewis, Dr Stuart Marshall Clarke, and  Dr Luciane Vieira de Mello Rigden.


  • Dr Susanne Voelkel from the School of Life Sciences is the winner of the Sir Alistair Pilkington Award for Teaching Excellence.


Dr Freya Jarmen, Music, was recognised for her Student Centred Approach/ Excellence in Teaching

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences award winners:


  • Dr Michael Davies; Dr Freya Jarman; Mr Michael Knight; and Dr Panayiota Vassilopoulou, all from the School of the Arts; Claire Mallanaphy, University of Liverpool Management School (ULMS);  and Dr Helen Stalford and Dr Jeremy Marshall, School of Law and Social Justice.


  • The Sir Alastair Pilkington Award will be jointly awarded to Dr Helen Stalford and Dr Jeremy Marshall in recognition of their leadership and the remarkable transformation of first year law.


Dr Helen Vaughan, Physics, receives her Excellence in Teaching Award

Faculty of Science and Engineering award winners:


  • Matt Murphy, School of Engineering; Jackie Leyland, Careers and Employability Service;  Neil Berry, School of Physical Sciences; Jon Woolf,  School of Physical Sciences; Helen Vaughan,  School of Environmental Sciences; Dan Hibbert, School of Engineering; Terry Payne, School of Electrical Engineering and Electronics and Computing Sciences; and Nick Greeves, School of Physical Sciences.


  • The Sir Alistair Pilkington Award for Teaching Excellence goes to Dr Nick Greeves from the School of Physical Sciences.


Faculty winners were each presented with a certificate and a prize of £500 to be spent on learning and teaching development activities.

The Sir Alastair Pilkington Awards for Teaching Excellence will be presented at the annual Celebrating Success Awards Ceremony, hosted by the Vice-Chancellor in December.  Each of the three winners will receive a certificate, and a £1000 contribution towards teaching and learning development activities.

You can still nominate a colleague to receive a Celebrating Success Award, until the deadline on September 2. For more, visit: https://www.liv.ac.uk/intranet/excellence/staff-awards/


Leave a comment