Seven-times winner of JCR Golf Trophy

Peter Myers alumni golf win

Past winners Hugh Whalley, George Knight and John Russell presenting the trophy to Peter

A member of staff from Chemistry has won the JCR Golf Trophy for the seventh time.

Professor Peter Myers, an Honorary Fellow, took part in the annual competition which is played in honour of John Charles Roberts, who was a glass blower in the Department during the 60s and 70s.

After leaving the University John went to work for Phase Separations where he started the Phase Separations Golf Society and after his death in 2005 the JCR Trophy was created to celebrate his life.

This year’s annual competition – played in a different European country each year under handicapped Stabelford rules- was played on the Llyn Peninsula in North Wales on the golf courses of Abersoch, Nefyn, Porthmadog and Pwllheli.


Leave a comment