Chemist awarded prestigious `Martin Medal’ by Chromatographic Society

Professor Peter Myers from the University’s Department of Chemistry has been awarded the prestigious `Martin Medal’ 2016 by the Chromatographic Society in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the advancement of separation science.

The `Martin Medal’ is the highest honour the Chromatographic Society confers, and is recognized by the international chromatography community as being the highest accolade that can be bestowed upon a chromatographer.

The `Medal’ is named after Professor A.J.P. Martin who together with Richard Synge received the Noble Prize chemistry in 1952.

Professor Myers joined the University’s Department of Chemistry in 2006 when he was also awarded the Chromatographic Society’s Jubilee Medal.

At the University, Peter has worked to establish a strong centre of excellence for chromatography and related disciplines within Chemistry. He has also sought to replace the industrial habit of collecting fluid samples in bottles and delivering them to laboratories for analysis, by replacing these manual procedures by automated instruments.

His career in chromatography began at Phase Separations Ltd where he was responsible for the development of the Sol-Gel process for the manufacture of spherical ceramics for use in chromatography.

Peter’s background and interest in computers also led him to develop programs for the optimisation of mobile phase parameters in both High Performance Liquid Chromatography (HPLC) and Gas Chromatography (GC). The basic concepts developed in these first programs forms the basis of a number of chromatography optimisation software packages used today.

Peter acts as an independent consultant across all areas of chromatography and has been a visiting Professor at a number of Universities.

He will receive the `Martin Medal’ at the International Conference on HPLC in San Francisco in June 2016.




Leave a comment