Liverpool scientists takes their research to Parliament

Today (Monday, 13 March) five University PhD students are to attend Parliament to present their research to a range of politicians and a panel of expert judges, as part of STEM for BRITAIN.

The five students, Aldo Reyes, Amy Ball, Blessing Osaghae, Monica Lomeli and Dzianis Litskevich, will present their research posters to be judged against dozens of other scientists’ research in the only national competition of its kind.

All five have been shortlisted from hundreds of applicants to appear in Parliament.

Diverse research

Department of Chemistry PhD student Aldo Reyes will be presenting his research about the catalytic properties of Imogolite nanotubes applied to renewable energies.

MRC Centre for Drug Safety Science PhD student Amy Ball will be presenting her research on how personalised medicine can improve drug safety.

Department of Cellular and Molecular Physiology PhD student Blessing Osaghae will be presenting her research entitled “Are two drugs better than one to stop babies being born too soon?”

School of Engineering PhD student Monica Lomeli will be presenting her research on the process simulation and optimisation of the sustainable production of bio-derived renewable polyesters.

School of Engineering PhD student Dzianis Litskevich will be presenting his research about IMAGINE – integrated modelling and simulation of a highly innovative integral nuclear system (in particular, molten salt fast reactors).


Stephen Metcalfe MP, Chairman of the Parliamentary and Scientific Committee, said: “This annual competition is an important date in the parliamentary calendar because it gives MPs an opportunity to speak to a wide range of the country’s best young researchers.”

Each student will be entered into specific subject sessions during the competition. Each which will end in a gold, silver and bronze prize-giving ceremony.

Judged by leading academics, the gold medalist receives £3,000, while silver and bronze receive £2,000 and £1,000 respectively.


The Parliamentary and Scientific Committee runs the event in collaboration with the Royal Academy of Engineering, the Royal Society of Chemistry, the Institute of Physics, the Royal Society of Biology, The Physiological Society and the Council for the Mathematical Sciences, with financial support from the Clay Mathematics Institute, Research Councils UK, Warwick Manufacturing Group, Society of Chemical Industry, Institute of Biomedical Science and the Heilbronn Institute for Mathematical Research.

Leave a comment