IET Innovation Award shortlist showcases Engineering Impact

The University has been shortlisted in three categories at the prestigious Institute of Engineering Technology (IET) 2019 Innovation Awards which take place on 13 November 2019.

The IET innovation Awards celebrate the most pioneering innovations across the breadth of science, engineering and technology.

The University has been shortlisted in the following categories: Young Innovator; Manufacturing Technology; and Technology Transfer.

Dr Hay Wong, who is with the School of Engineering, is shortlisted for both the Young Innovator award and the Manufacturing Technology award for his PhD project which addressed one of the bottlenecks slowing down wider industrial uptake of metal 3D printing.

Now a post doctoral research associate, Hay Wong, under the guidance of Professor Chris Sutcliffe, developed a proof-of-concept prototype to inspect the electron beam additive manufacturing process via electronic imaging in order to address the lack of quality control in metal 3D printing.

Professor Yaochun Shen and Dr Yihua Hu, both from the University’s Department of Electrical Engineering and Electronics are shortlisted in the Technology Transfer category for technology based on Line-field Optical Coherence Tomography (LF-OCT) which is the most advanced optical non-invasive imaging platform for ophthalmology.

Dr Yihua Hu is leading this project to demonstrate its new applications for non-destructive inspection of semiconductor packaging, in which case we transfer the medical technology to semiconductor industry

The winners will be announced at a prestigious awards ceremony in London hosted by journalist, presenter and comedian, Alex Brooker, on Wednesday, 13 November.

Panellist and IET Events Group Manager, Tanya Spencer, said: “All the finalists’ entries have a game-changing impact on society, improving the way we live and work. We are immensely proud to recognise, celebrate and show our support for these exceptional achievements and wish everyone the best of luck at the Awards ceremony.”

More information about the Innovation Awards finalists can be found at