University and Guild of Students sign UN Sustainable Development Goals Accord

The Vice-Chancellor, Professor Dame Janet Beer, and President of the Guild of Students, Adnan Hussain, have today signed an accord committing to the UN Sustainable Development Goals.

The joint signing took place at a ceremony in the Guild of Students attended by staff, students and stakeholders.

The 17 United Nations Sustainable Development Goals, part of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, were established by world leaders in 2015 to create a better world, end poverty, fight inequality and take action on climate change. Supporting the goals are measurable targets to guide governments, businesses and society to work together to build a better, sustainable future for all.

Professor Dame Janet Beer said: “Signing the UN Sustainable Development Goals Accord demonstrates the University’s commitment to sustainability and builds on existing activities and research and education strengths in this area.

“By signing this accord, we are formally recognising the important role we have to play in attaining the Sustainable Development Goals by 2030. And we are committing ourselves to placing the SDGs at the heart of our decision making; to collaborating with regional, national and international partners in support of the goals; and to sharing best practice.”


The University already undertakes activities which contribute to many of the UN Sustainable Development Goals through its research, learning and teaching operations and community of staff, students and alumni.

However, as part of its commitment to the SDGs, the University is reviewing all of its operations with a view to implementing measures to improve and enhance its sustainability.

It has established six new sustainability sub-groups each with a Guild representative and an academic Chair. Each sub group will set meaningful and challenging programmes of work across six areas of university activity: climate; biodiversity; culture and communication; responsible consumption and production; travel and transport; and the built environment.

Further information on the 17 UN Sustainable Development Goals is available here >>>>>

Image below (from l to r): Peter Birch, Syd Cottle, Clare Casey, Professor Dame Janet Beer and Rachael Hanmer Dwight.