Scientists win awards from Royal Society of Chemistry

UGA Associate Provost Martin Kagel with Liverpool Colleagues at Delta Innovation Hub

Three chemists at the University of Liverpool have been recognised for their work with prestigious awards from the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC).

Professors Andy Cooper, P. Andrew Evans and Matt Rosseinsky have been recognised for their international contribution to Chemistry research by the RSC which makes 60 awards to the world’s leading chemists each year.

Vice-Chancellor, Professor Sir Howard Newby, said: “These are superb achievements and reflect the world-class standard of research underway in Chemistry at Liverpool. We have made significant investments in both our staff and infra-structure in Chemistry and I’m delighted to see that these are paying dividends in terms of the quality of our research.”

Professor Cooper was awarded the Corday-Morgan Prize for his contributions to materials chemistry – in particular with porous organic polymers. Professor Cooper is Head of the University’s Department of Chemistry and founding Director of the University’s Centre for Materials Discovery which enables businesses to access high-throughput research facilities for the discovery of new materials for applications such as energy storage, medical equipment and consumer products.

Professor Evans’ research is focused on the development of new medicinally important agents using naturally occurring agents as their inspiration. He won the Pedler Award for his contribution to organic chemistry and in particular for the design of multi-component processes and their application to the stereoselective synthesis of complex natural products.

Professor Rosseinsky was awarded the inaugural De Gennes Prize for his contribution to materials chemistry – in particular to the materials chemistry of solids. Professor Rosseinsky’s work focuses on the development of synthesis coupled with detailed characterisation to control the functional behaviour of materials in a chemically understandable manner.

Dr Richard Pike, Chief Executive Officer of the RSC, said: “The new RSC Prizes are of the broadest relevance to the whole chemical sciences community, rewarding careers defined by exceptional work, excellence and dedication.

“The awards focus on specialist areas to reward outstanding work in all areas of chemical science.  We congratulate Liverpool Professors Andy Cooper, Andrew Evans and Matt Rosseinsky, alongside all the other winners, on their success.”


Leave a comment