Royal Society medal awarded to University Chemist

Matt Rosseinsky

Professor Matthew Rosseinsky FRS from the University of Liverpool’s Department of Chemistry has been awarded the prestigious Hughes Medal by the Royal Society, the UK’s independent national academy for science.

The accolade, which is awarded biennially, is one of a number given by the Royal Society in recognition of scientific achievements in a wide variety of fields of research. The uniting factor is the excellence of the scientists’ work and the profound implications their findings have had for others working in the relevant fields and wider society.

The Hughes Medal (first awarded in 1902) is awarded for original discoveries relating to the generation, storage and use of energy. Previous recipients include Alexander Graham Bell, Stephen Hawking FRS and Nobel Laureates Andre Geim and Sir Neville Mott.

Professor Rosseinsky received the Hughes Medal for his ‘highly influential discoveries in the synthetic chemistry of solid state electronic materials and novel microporous structures.’

Sir Paul Nurse, President of the Royal Society, said; “We’re very pleased to be able to recognise these outstanding scientists in this way. The Society’s awards and medals are a crucial part of our work in highlighting excellence across the disciplines. This year’s recipients represent the very best science taking place across the globe.”

Vice-Chancellor, Professor Sir Howard Newby added: “I am delighted for Matt. This is a well-deserved recognition of his path-breaking research in a field which is of immense significance for the future of our planet.”

Leave a comment