Two University staff receive National Teaching Fellowships

Students in lecture theatre

Two staff members from the University of Liverpool have been awarded National Teaching Fellowships by the Higher Education Academy (HEA).

Dr Luke Dawson, from the School of Dentistry and Dr Janet Strivens in the Centre of Lifelong Learning have received the awards in recognition of their contribution to the student learning experience.

National Teaching Fellowships celebrate excellence in higher education teaching and support for learning, and awards are given for innovative practice. Award winners were chosen from more than 180 nominations submitted by further and higher education institution across England, Ireland and Wales.

Dr Luke Dawson

Dr Luke Dawson

Dr Dawson, Director of the University’s Bachelor Dental Surgery (BDS) programmes, has been responsible for a number of educational innovations that include: the enhanced development of diagnostic expertise through the design of novel blended learning approaches; modernisation of the BDS curriculum and assessment strategies to bring them in line with best practice; the development of the National Overseas Registration Examination for Dentistry in his capacity of Chief External Examiner; and being a co-inventor and leading the developmental team responsible for LIFTUPP.

LIFTUPP is an educational tool that improves curriculum management, enhances the student experience, and at the same time reduces the administrative workload. It is currently being adopted by four dental schools, and has generated a great deal of national and international interest in a multitude of sectors.

Dr Janet Strivens

Dr Janet Strivens (second from left)

Dr Strivens, Educational Developer in the Centre for Lifelong Learning, was instrumental in developing the University’s suite of programmes to train staff in learning and teaching. She is the Programme Director for the Postgraduate Diploma/Masters in Learning and Teaching in Higher Education, and has provided specialist input to the development of an online Professional Doctorate in Higher Education.

As Senior Associate Director for the Centre of Recording Achievement, she has been involved in projects and consultancy relating to personal development planning with educational institutions across the UK and internationally. Dr Strivens has also pioneered work on e-portfolios, and spearheaded a range of educational projects, including work to transform medical education in the Punjab.

Each will receive an award of £10,000, which will be used for Fellows’ professional development in teaching and learning or aspects of pedagogy.

Commenting on the news, Pro-Vice-Chancellor for the Student Experience, Professor Kelvin Everest, said: “I am delighted to offer my congratulations to Janet and Luke for becoming National Teaching Fellows. Both are extremely committed members of staff who make a valued contribution to the University. It is particularly pleasing to note that this is the fourth consecutive year that staff members have been recognised by the Higher Education Academy for their inspiring and innovative practice in learning and teaching.”

The new National Teaching Fellows will officially receive their awards at a ceremony which will take place in London in October.

Leave a comment