Poster day winners announced

Group on poster day 2013

Winning group

The winners of this year’s University of Liverpool Poster Day have been unveiled after more than 250 entries were judged by leading research professionals.

The annual event gives second year Postgraduate Research students the chance to showcase their work to a wider academic audience and gain feedback from peers and research professionals.

Allison with her poster

Allison with her poster

The top prize winners were Caroline Steele from the Institute of Ageing and Chronic Disease who won the Faculty of Health and Life Sciences award, Allison Williams from Archaeology, Classics and Egyptology who won the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences award, and Charles Whitford from the School of Engineering who won the Faculty of Science and Engineering award.

The Guild award for the most innovative poster was awarded to Leimar Garcia-Siino from the School of English.

Charles being presented with his prize

Charles being presented with his prize

Poster Day online

The Poster Day, which was addressed by Outstanding Young Researcher of the Year Dr Jon Coleman, is also extended to the University’s Postgraduate Researchers across the world with Poster Day online, which remains open until 29 April.

Event organiser and Head of PGR Development, Dr Richard Hinchcliffe, said: “Poster Day is an opportunity to uphold academic excellence within individual faculties and an important learning experience for PGRs. Not only does it give them the chance to refine and develop their communication skills within an academic context, it is also an important showcase of the research taking place at our institution.”

Professor Graham Kemp, HLS Faculty Director of Postgraduate Research said: “The entries have been fantastic yet again this year – the diversity and quality of the work on show is a credit to the students at the University.”

The posters which were judged as runner-up in each category included:

“¢ Nicola Power, Institute of Psychology, Health and Society.



“¢ Katie Psarou, Institute of Ageing and Chronic Disease.

“¢ Daniel Potter, Archaeology, Classics and Egyptology.

“¢ David Falk, Archaeology, Classics and Egyptology.

“¢ Junjie Wang, School of Engineering.

“¢ Natasha Flack, Chemistry.

“¢ James Barnaby, Music.

“¢ Kevin Arbuckle, Institute of Integrative Biology.

poster group 2013


Leave a comment