University researchers appointed to EPSRC Council and Strategic Advisory Teams

Matt Rosseinsky

Four researchers at the University of Liverpool have been appointed to strategic positions at the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC). 

Materials Chemist and Fellow of the Royal Society, Professor Matt Rosseinsky, has been appointed to the EPSRC Council for a five-year term. The Council is the senior decision making body, responsible for determining policy, priorities and strategy. 

Professor of Chemistry, Rasmita Raval; Honorary Professor in Chemistry and Royal Society Industry Fellow, Adam Kowalski; and Professor of Ophthalmic Bioengineering, Rachel Williams, have been appointed members of the EPSRC Strategic Advisory Teams (SATs) for a three-year term. 

SATs provide advice to the Executive of EPSRC on developing, implementing and modifying plans. Membership is drawn from a wide range of stakeholders including academia, industry, charities and government bodies. 

Executive Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Faculty of Science and Engineering, and institutional lead for EPSRC engagement, Professor Ken Badcock, said: “It is important that our top scientists are active in influencing the strategy of EPSRC, with whom we have 57 million in active grants. 

“In addition, we have instigated a quarterly meeting with a senior director at EPSRC as part of our framework status, and we are piloting approaches to disseminate intelligence on the latest thinking at EPSRC.”

Leave a comment