Chemist shortlisted for `Women of the Future’ Award

Dr Anna Slater, from the University’s Department of Chemistry, has been short-listed in the Science category of the Women of the Future Awards 2016.

Dr Slater is a member of Professor Andy Cooper’s research group and her research focuses on the synthesis and characterisation of porous organic cages.

She has recently been awarded a Royal Society-EPSRC Dorothy Hodgkin Fellowship to develop flow chemistry as a tool to discover, optimise, and scale up functional materials. She has also secured a proleptic position in the Materials Innovation Factory  which she will take up after her fellowship in 2021.

The Women of the Future Awards, founded by Pinky Lilani in 2006, recognizes and celebrates the inspirational female talent in Britain today across a number of sectors including Media, Business and Arts and Culture.

Professor Ronan McGrath, Head of the School of Physical Sciences, said:  Anna fully deserves this recognition. She is a remarkable individual who makes an outstanding contribution to the University both scientifically and in terms of our overall culture and ethos.

“She follows the success of Dr Laura Harkness-Brennan of the Physics department who was short-listed for this award and highly commended last year. Their nominations exemplify the commitment of the School to promote and celebrate our excellent staff.”

The winners will be announced at an awards dinner in London on 16 November 2016

Leave a comment